Google Drive - How to back up data on your Samsung Galaxy phone
Backing up your Samsung Galaxy to Google Drive helps keep your personal data safe. By regularly backing up your data, you can easily restore your information if you reset your phone or when setting up a new Galaxy device.
Note: Menu names, settings, and screen layouts may vary depending on the model and software version.
Regularly backing up your data helps protect important information in case your phone is reset, lost, or replaced with a new device.
Note:
- Apps, photos and videos, SMS and MMS messages, call history, device settings, and Google Account data can be backed up.
- Your device will automatically back up your data over a Wi-Fi connection when it is connected to a charger and has remained unused for at least 2 hours.
- If your device is not used for 57 consecutive days, your backup data stored in Google Drive (excluding items backed up to Google Photos) will be automatically deleted.
- Backups to Google Drive use the storage available with your Google Account. If you exceed your available storage, you may need to purchase a subscription plan for additional storage.
If you factory reset your phone or set up a new Galaxy device, you can restore data that was previously backed up to Google Drive.
Note: Backups created on a newer Android™ version cannot be restored to a device running an older Android version.
Note: Steps may vary depending on the device model, region, and software version.
Thank you for your feedback!
Please answer all questions.